Acknowledgements

While tariffs have been reduced, the number of non-tariff measures (NTMs) is increasing and is often blamed to be a source of the lack of integration in ASEAN. For NTMs, disciplines on transparency are the key, and regional and multilateral NTM mutual recognition and harmonisation are the answers. Turning back to 2013, when we started the project to develop an NTM database for all 10 ASEAN countries within one year was a kind of 'mission impossible'. With dedication of national teams and government officials, we have successfully developed the NTM database; above all, we have likewise developed NTM expertise in this region.

The project is led by Lili Yan Ing (ERIA) and Santiago Fernandez de Cordoba (UNCTAD). The Report editing team consist of Rizqy Anandika and Ruth Elisabeth. The core team consists of Michelle Ayu Chinta Kristy, Rizqy Anandhika, Chi Le Ngo, Maxim Gubarev, Fabien Dumesnil, and Denise Penello-Rial. The project is advanced by supervision and comments from Shujiro Urata (ERIA), Olivier Cadot (Lausanne University), Ponciano Intal, Jr. (ERIA), Ralf Peters (UNCTAD), and Guillermo Valles Galmes (UNCTAD).

This mission would have definitely been impossible without hard work and dedication of ASEAN national teams and collaboration of government officials: Brunei Darussalam (Christina Ruth Elisabeth, Mohammad Yusri Yahya, Noramali dato Jumat); Cambodia (Chap Sotarith, Christina Ruth Elisabeth, Anika Widiana, Neth Nero, Uy Rthiymony); Indonesia (Ernawati Munadi, Indah Rahayu, Samroni Salim, Titis Kusuma Lestari, Ayu Shinta Saputri); Lao PDR (Ampahphone Sayasenh, Saygnasak Sengaloun, Phonesavanth Sittideth, Sonemala Naouanthasing, Vangchai Vang); Malaysia (Evelyn Shymala Devadason, VGR Chandran, Tang Tuck Cheong, Ezral Uzaimi); Myanmar (Zin Naing, Cho Thein, Win Min Phyoe); Philippines (Loreli C. de Dios, Paul Feliciano); Singapore (Hank Lim, Anika Widiana, Bernard Aw, and government officials); Thailand (Chedtha Intaravitak, Nuttawut Lasanapanyakul, Urairat Jantaraisiri, Maichanok Krapookthong, Wittawat Prayookwong, Challee Khanksiri); and Viet Nam (Vo Tri Thanh, Anh Doung Nguyen, Than Binh Minh, Phuong Van Hoang).

The project also significantly benefited from the supervision and support of ASEAN government officials, particularly Sta. Rebecca Fatimah (MITI Malaysia), Sulaimah

Mahmood (MTI Singapore), Donna Gultom (MOT Indonesia), Phuong Van Hoang (MIT Vietnam), and Mark Ng (MTI Singapore). Along the way of conducting the project, Regional Leaders well endorsed and accepted the initial work and preliminary findings at the ASEAN's Senior Economic Officials Meeting (SEOM) in August 2015 in Kuala Lumpur, ASEAN's High Level Task Force in January 2016 in Vientianne, and lately at the East Asian SEOM in KL in April 2016.

We would also like to thank the editorial team— Fadriani Trianingsih, Abigail, Maria Priscila del Rosario, and Ainslie Smith—for putting these country reports nicely, and Elisa Ayu, who provided valuable administration support for this project.

We would also like to extend our gratitude to all ASEAN Member States and government officials who significantly contributed to the success of this project and worked together with us to support governments and the business community to have more transparent NTMs, to have a better understanding of NTMs, to design better NTMs, to implement NTMs better, and to move forward for better trade and investment policy and regulations.